4 comments on ““Spacehunter: Adventures In The Forbidden Zone” (1983) – Classic American Space Opera

  1. ANAGLYPH, BABY!

    But hey, if Universal spent the money to put Jaws 3D into RealD, then some misguided soul has to be doing it for Spacehunter, too. (I’m assuming it’s still Anaglyph since, unless I totally missed it, you didn’t mention an upconvert.)

    [I actually saw the Jaws 3-D upconvert. On the big screen. Feel free to pity me all you want, I deserve it…]

    gawd, I haven’t seen Spacehunter in…probably as long as you have. May have to give it another go. ๐Ÿ™‚
    OH! BTW… I finally got round to watching Bring Me the Head of Machine Gun Woman a couple of nights ago! It was entirely, utterly ridiculous, in a Battle Royale sort of way, so of course I was far too fond of it.
    “So, do you still want to go deep?”
    “I’m not going to untie you…”
    “That doesn’t matter!”
    I actually LOLed…

    • God I’d forgotten this one. Even more so that my future wife Molly Ringwald was in it. It’s totally a product of its time, but like you suggest, it’s hard not to love. I think I must have seen it on VHS, but I find it hard to believe someone isn’t planning some kind of 3d release. Plenty of anaglyph stuff has made it to 3d blue ray (I’ve got stuff like Creature from the Black Lagoon and Dial M for Murder), I find it hard to believe that every 3d movie ever made won’t get there eventually

      And Robert – if Machine Gun Woman is what I think it is? It’s the best modern intentional b-movie (if you get my drift) that’s been made for years. I loved it so much I couldn’t bring myself to review it! I’m awkward like that lol. But you’ll be glad to know.. Deffo a sequel on the way!

  2. Actually guys this one wasn’t in Anaglyph 3D format… it was originally released back then to theaters in a newer 3D format they perfected in the early 80’s called “Space-Vision 3D”… That one used polarized lenses on the glasses, one oriented vertical and the other horizontal to make the images seem 3D. I remember we were fascinated that if you had two sets of the glasses, and flipped one of them over before putting them together it made the lenses seem opaque. Fun with science…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The DVD I have for it wasn’t in 3D… it was the official Columbia Pictures Region 1 release on one of those double sided DVD 18’s with one side the pan-and-scan version and the other the widescreen letter-boxed theatrical one. Not too hard to guess which one we watched… ๐Ÿ™‚

    A sequel to “Machinegun Woman” ? Hmmmm? Looks like I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for that one…

    • good lord, that sounds headache-inducing.

      And yeah, Machine Gun Woman was right up there with Hobo with a Shotgun. Half of me wants to do a review of it called “The Killing of a Mexican Cookie”…

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

