10 comments on ““Seasons Greetings: Goodbye 2014 & Hello 2015!!”

  1. Wow! I love your holiday tale! I’m so glad it was a happy one. In case I get all goofy and forget, have a very happy birthday. Yesterday was mine. I wanted to go out hiking, but it was so windy that it turned our area into the land of falling trees. We walked down the street and had a lovely dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant instead. Happy New Year to you and Carolyn. Give Ting Ting a scritch for me. πŸ™‚

    • Well, happy birthday to you!! πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad we were able to visit with Sandra and her family again this year… it’s becoming one of my favorite things about joining Carolyn’s family. Growing up, I never got to see many relatives outside of my Grandma, Dad’s family all lived in the midwest and until recently I was unaware how my Mom’s side of the family back on Okinawa disliked her choice of an American husband. I had always assumed we never had any contact due to the distance involved… So, for me, it’s a new experience having family to share gatherings and such with.

      Oooohhh… not to worry! I’ll pass along an extra good one for Ting-ting to enjoy when we watch TV tonight. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy belated New Year and Christmas!

    So glad it went well for you and you have such good family to see. A bit of a cliche, but when things are difficult it’s great to have the support of such great people.

    • Yes, that the one thing that is so wonderful about becoming part of Carolyn’s extended family, just how supportive and loving they are in the face of some pretty negative feelings from Carolyn’s mom. Combined with my own parents, we have the best support group any married couple could want. πŸ™‚

    • Yes. It’s been nice getting to know Sandra and we had a really long time to talk on Christmas morning. I got to hear lots of old stories about when she and my sweetie were younger. It’s amazing how much like Carolyn she is in some ways and how different in others… I never really noticed until we spent time together. She’s 3 years younger than Carolyn and that subtile difference in age makes for some interesting differences in their personalities.

      The real surprise is just how much they both are a lot like their Mom in basic ways… all of the Simms women are amazingly strong willed and stubborn at times. It must have made for some very interesting clashes as they were growing up.

      • For me, I’m an odd mix of my Mom and my Dad. Much of that is probably cultural as well as generational.

        Mom, even after all the years she’s spent living in the US, is still very “Japanese” in a lot of ways, and I’m almost completely “American” in most ways. It’s true that my intensely emotional side is definitely from my Mom… although she is much more controlled, reserved, and less likely to show it unless you know her really well and she feels comfortable with you. Me… I’m far more expressive and impulsive for the most part, although I always thought my shyness around strangers was something we shared.

  3. Yep… I would probably be soooo lost there. πŸ™‚

    I had some experience with that in college once I met some international students from Japan. One look at me, and they immediately started talking to me in Japanese… only to discover I was almost completely without any clue what they were saying. It got worse once we started taling in English. I was…. too American… for them to feel any connection with me. Later on I found out from other aquaintances that their general impression was that I was “too forward… too loud… that I made them uncomfortable”. It hurt my feelings at the time, because I had really wanted to get to know them and feel some connection to that part of my ancestry in some small way. Doubly wierd for me, since to most of my fellow Americans, I usually seem “too quiet… too shy… and too foreign” when they first meet me. Funny when you think about it. πŸ˜‰

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

