11 comments on “Home Is Where The Heart Is…

  1. Lastech and I are VERY happy that things turned out the way they did. You have accomplished something major. Hugs for you and Carolyn.

    • I can’t believe it went so well… I honestly never would have guessed my folks would be so accepting and supportive. Carolyn was so touched to find out my Mom wants to think of her as “another daughter”… It’s nice for me to see her getting the same love from my parents that Sandra and her family have already given me.

      We have family!!! πŸ™‚

    • We’re both all about the “Happiness” these last few days…

      Having finally gotten all of this fear out of our lives has only made us giddy with the new possibilities of it all. So… our new rule is.. “No more tears!!”. πŸ˜‰

  2. Wauw!! What a wonderful post, Miyuki. So glad it turned out the way it did. Twenty years ago, I was in your shoes writing the “don’t hate me for this” letter from London to my own mum & dad in a faraway land. So I fully understand the worry you had. Thanks for this post (and if I haven’t said this before let me just mention I think your writing is brilliant!).

    • Thanks Jack! πŸ˜‰
      It’s been such a relief to get through it and find out it wasn’t going to be the nightmare I’d dreaded since Carolyn decided to stop hiding things from her parents. We both feel so “liberated” by the whole experience now… and knowing that at least my parents and her sister and her family are with us makes the disappointment over her Mom and Dad’s disapproval something we can take.

      And hey… I’m not giving up on them. Who knows? Maybe they’ll come to realize what they are missing by excluding us from their lives. I live in hope…

    • I am lucky. It’s times like this that remind me just how much.

      I always knew my Dad loved me… but I somehow always felt that he didn’t quite understand me the way that he might have if I’d been born a boy. He’s always been a quiet figure in my life, letting Mom see to all the day-to-day things while I was growing up. As a daughter, I suppose my Mom and I have always been closer than I was to my father. This experience has only served to show me just how deeply he really does care for me and it makes me love him even more.

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

