15 comments on ““The Raid: Redemption” (2012) – Indonesian Martial Art/ Action

  1. Awesome review Miyuki 🙂
    You know, I didn’t notice it was lack of women characters. In real life, silat is not just for male…don’t worry 😉

    Yup…the story is pretty easy to guess but the action make up for it. Glad you like it and give it 4 stars. So far, everyone I know has given good review on the movie.
    By the way, you should share this review in Caroline’s world cinema series…so there will be 2 Raid review 😉

    a friend of mine told me that the blu-ray version has no Indonesian language track 😦

    Thank you for the Link, Miyuki 🙂

    • There are women who do silat? It is hard to picture that… the movie makes it seem so brutal and forceful and I know that I would be very intimidated to try to learn it. They must be very tough girls!! 😉

      I liked this one a lot…. it’s a film that Indonesians can be very proud of making. I have seen lots of action movies made in lots of countries, and this one is top notch all the way. Had only the characters been more fully realized and rounded, I would easily have given it 5 “Meows”…. I will definitely want to see more films by both director Gareth Evans and the star, Iko Uwais. Their previous collaboration on “Merantau” was good too, but it’ll be hard for them to top this one for certain.

      Hahaha!! As always,I’m glad for a chance to link to you… it was interesting for me to read a native Indonesian’s review of this one, and I’m sure others will find it interesting too! 😉

      • This is special for you>

        My school also has an extracurricular called Tapak Suci (Holy Palm) which is also a brach of silat, both boys and girls are doing it. It’s not as brutal as it seems.

        I didn’t give 5 stars either because the story is predictable.

        Hahaha…my review as native is nothing special!

        Ah…did you know that Hollywood is remaking this movie? *sigh*

      • That clip is interesting to see… it starts slowly much like my Tai-Chi exercises but then it goes much, much faster!! Carolyn would truly like this I’m thinking…. she really wanted us to take Kickboxing classes and I just know this would appeal to her. A shame we don’t have any silat practitioners in our lil’ part of the world.

        I think your review is great… especially since you share it in English for those of us in the whole rest of the world. It’s a great way for those like me to learn all about all things Indonesian from someone who is living there. 😉

        Ohhhh, yes…. I had heard about the remake, but I honestly can’t think that it could ever be made better than this. But you know what I think would be interesting? I kind of wish Hindi filmakers would give a remake of this a go. They often do that for US films, and I’m thinking a “Bollywood” version of “The Raid” might actually work in a strange way. 🙂

      • yeah…too bad silat hasn’t become a wellknown art like kung-fu, karate and others even though it has been around for long. I think it’s because we dont promote it enough.
        The speed that that woman showed is a product of years of training.

        Huahahaha a bollywood version? instead of fighting they will dance 😉

  2. I really enjoyed this. I noticed the complete lack of women in the film but the action was so surprising and imaginative it got away with it (and yes as you point out any significant characterisation).

    Was also surprised the film was directed by a Welshman, but great to see he’s brought these Indonesian talents to the wider world’s attention.

    • Gareth Evans has been in Indonesia for quite some time, and he’s added a lot to the Indonesian film scene. His earlier movie with Iko Uwais, “Merantau” is less polished than this one, but it’s definitely worth a look too if you get the chance. It’s been released on Region 2 DVD in both the UK as well as Germany I believe, so finding it should be easy.

  3. Oooh, always nice to see a film that we’ve both seem! I pretty much agree with you — and I do wonder if the more generic appeal is down to actually having a welshman behind the camera? It certainly felt much more direct than many an Asian film to me, possibly to its detriment. I was rather disappoInted with the lack of character exploration (and I noticed the complete lack of any real female presence). But, it does have some amazing action, and in Mad Dog, we have my villain of the year!

    And thanks for the plug as ever!

    • I’m thinking that some of the reason this has such a “universal” appeal might well be Gareth Evans direction. I’ve seen interviews with him from back when he did “Merantau” and he’s definitely a Martial Art film fan, but also wanted even then to try to push Indonesian films towards a more “Western” look while still preserving the vibe and energy that they have going on there.

      “Mad Dog” aka Yayan Ruhian is apparently the real deal too… I’ve read that he personally trained the Indonesian Presidential Security Forces in silat back in the late 80’s. Definitely outshines the rather tepid character of Tama the crime boss.Makes you wonder why he wasn’t running things…… 😉

      And no problem with the link, always happy to send people your way…. both you and Novia beat me to the punch on this one and it was hard coming up with much else to say, Hehehehe!!

      I’ve fallen back on reviews… yet again….. but I’m hoping there will be time for at least one or two more “chop socky” flixs in the week to come… 🙂

      • You think you’ve fallen back on reviews? I’ve honestly got 10 films that I have failed to get written up. And then on my flight to the USA yesterday, I got a real shock to see a Japanese film I simply was not expecting to see for at least a year was showing. So now, I’m just going to have to use some of my holiday time writing that one up ;-). Still, I might have plenty of time as I may be hurricane dodging lol.

        I’ve been enjoying your little martial arts fest – especially as you’ve been making it a real world wide journey. I look forward to maybe catching one or two whilst broadly in the same time zone.

        And in September? We WILL get that joint post done!

      • Hahaha!! Isn’t that always the way? I can’t tell you how many movies I’ve stumbled into by complete accident. 😉

        Yep…. with luck I’m hoping to get a review for Korea’s “Fighter In The Wind”… and if I’m reeeaallly lucky, the Chinese swordplay film “The Sword Identity” by the end of the weekend… Keep your fingers crossed!

  4. I’ve been wanting to see THE RAID for quite some time so very cool to read your review, Miss Catgirl. But what a BUMMER about the original soundtrack!! Boo-hoo!! But at least we get the original Indo audio! Funny enough, would you believe it after the US most of my readers on “Backyard Asia” are from Indonesia!!! (followed by the UK and MALAYSIA!!). Of course I’m totally happy about this but also a bit, like, huh??? Haha. Most (read: ALL!!) the Indonesian films I’ve written about in the past are from the good old days – the heyday of Barry Prima and wild Indo action movies.

    • Sorry it’s taken a couple days to get back to you but it’s been a busy, busy, busy time around here without much chance to attend to the social niceties…. as well as keeping me from doing any new reviews…. d’oh!!

      Yeah…. I like the old Indonesian films, but they are harder for me to track down than the newer ones so I tend to get a huge “to watch” list of more recent stuff.

  5. I’ve finally bought the blu-ray. Thanks to your review, I know what movie I should spent my money on. I haven’t watch it yet. Hopefully, Malaysia can come up with movies like this. You know, great in every ways. *sigh*

    • I’ve watched a lot of Malay film, and although they are still a bit rough around the edges as an industry there is definitely the same “feeling” of energy and vibe to the best of them. It wouldn’t surprise me at all to see them manage to rise to the occasion and do their own Martial Art epic worthy of world renown too.

      Speaking of which… I’ve what I’m hoping will be just that spunky lil’ film right now just waiting for me to get the chance to watch it so keep your eyes peeled for my review… hopefully soon. 😉

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!