8 comments on ““Juan of the Dead” (2011) – Cuban Zombie Comedy/ Horror

  1. Zombie is never my think, ghost is still my fav horror…but there are 2 zombie movies I like so much, Shaun of the dead (it’s not shawn, Miyuki πŸ˜‰ ) and 28 days later.

    Juan sounds interesting, fun and nice review Miyuki, but not sure it’s interesting enough for me to buy it πŸ˜‰

    Bringing Castro issue is what I think as the interesting part.

    • Ooops! I did it again didn’t I? πŸ˜‰

      I think it’s another example of the slight differences in British English and American English…. For some reason my lil’ brain keeps spelling “Shawn” rather than “Shaun”….

      Zombie have always been the monsters that I like the best…. they are just soooo creepy and gross. Even though they’ve been used for…. well…. just about Everything, they still seem to have something new to offer.

      • Nope… that is pronounced the same too, but it “looks” like an Irish name to me. It’s hard to explain I guess…. especially since American English is so chock full of foreign words that we just “adopted” for use.

        I know that a lot of time people from other countries learning English here are often really confused by how much of our language seems so oddly without common rhyme or reason to itself. In a way… I probably lucked out learning it right from birth. I speak it like a native while my mom still sounds a little “off” even after speaking it for nearly two thirds of her life.

  2. The Nunchucks and Catapult were a nice touch but I think Shaun of the Dead just edges this one, and even though I have not seen Juan of the Dead I think that your rating of three meeeeeows out of five is worthy of this outing πŸ™‚ I enjoyed the video clip too, how ghoul, I mean how cool πŸ™‚ lol

    Have a fun evening πŸ™‚

    Androgoth

    • Yep… “Shawn” still stands tall as the best horror/ zombie mish-mash but I’m always open to try new ones in the hopes of scoring another worthy hit.

      There’s an interesting one from the Netherlands I’ve seen the Trailer for… “Zombibi”… and I’m told there’s an English friendly Region 2 DVD due out in the UK next month so who knows? πŸ˜‰

      • Yes well all Zombies are welcomed my friend, just as long as their table manners are up to scratch πŸ™‚ lol

        Have a lovely weekend Nekoneko πŸ™‚

        Androgoth

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

