7 comments on ““El Monstro del Mar!” (2010) – Australian Exploitation/ Horror

  1. fun review Miyuki…I can’t stop admiring your ability to find this kind of movies from all around the world.

    I wonder why they have to make the main characters as bad girls, I mean from your review I dont see the use of them being portrayed as bad….not that I like seeing damsel in distress 😉

    • Hahaha…. these girls are like the protagonists in the old “Spaghetti Westerns”…. very dangerous and wicked, but sometimes to fight Evil you have to be almost more Evil. It is fun to see them in a movie like this, but I would not ever like to meet people like them for real. They could be more dangerous to me than any monster…

      I like to see movies with “damsels in distress” but I like them to be strong women who can save themselves and not just die because they are silly or stupid. I like them to be smart and courageous and willing to fight for those they love just like the heroines I always admired in movies when I was a little girl and wanted to grow up to be like.

    • Hahaha!! More silly than scary really… but the girls certainly have that “vintage” bad girl pin-up look down pat for this one. Going to have to remember this film when next Halloween rolls around. 😉

  2. Interesting, some kind of Australian “Death Proof” homage to a movie sub genre that seems to only exist now to be parodied or worshipped! Sounds somewhat interesting stylistically (and I love those 50’s style hairdo’s from your screen caps), but I don’t think there is enough here for it to make me track it down.

    Novroz – as Neko has already said, the “Bad Girls” thing is pretty much part of the DNA of these types of films. It means they can get away with them being overtly sexual in dress and attitude, and add balance to that generic “Good Girl”. The moral being – sometimes you have to fight bad with bad I suppose. You rarely get that kind of characterisation anymore, and certainly not in more “classy” films.

    • Hahaha!! Not to worry…. I don’t think anybody would ever mistake this one as “classy”…. 😉

      They’ve made lots of versions of this basic story over the years, and by now the “Bad Girl” is pretty much a stock character in everything from Westerns to Sci-fi low budget films. It’s nice to see you appreciate the dichotomy of the whole “Good Girl” vs, “Bad Girl” themes that pop up throughout these as an underlying element.

      Yeah…. unless you are nutty for deliberately “bad films”, you could probably miss this one and not feel disappointed. I’m thinking that “Bitch Slap” was a better homage to this odd little genre, overall. I reviewed that one a while back, and it was a clever, fun lil’ film that pretty much does exactly what this one wanted to do, but didn’t have the budget to manage. You can check that review out HERE if you are so inclined…. 😉

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

