11 comments on ““Kung Fu Cooking Girls” – My Dream Come True….

    • It certainly made me giggle… and brought back oodles of old memories too.

      All the other girls my age back then wanted to be nurses… ballerinas…. pop singers… and models. Goofy lil’ me wanted her own sword and one of those gorgeous silken dragon embroidered gowns just built for kicking butt.

      Oooohhh!! And Hairpins… lots and lots of pointy, deadly hairpins…. Hehehehe!! It’s probably why my Mom always hated me watching those films…. 😉

      • Yes, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is one of my Favorite Films, and Ang Lee one of my Favorite Directors. Also a Huge Ziyi Zhang Fan. In fact, I had her in mind to play the lead role of my Screenplay White Jade http://darkjade68.wordpress.com/white-jade/. In fact in fact, back when I was trying to find an agent to Read the Script, I actually got hold of her Agent’s E-mail somehow, and sent him a Request for them to Read it. He said to contact them when I had Financing for it, ha. Hmm, as you might have guesses, that never happened.

        DarkJade

    • Actually… don’t laugh, but Carolyn and I have been looking for another exercise class to take in the evenings at the college now that our dance classes are winding down… I might just try to tempt her into TaiChi…. I had fun with it back when I used to study it. Maybe this could be our new thing to do together for fun. (But if I know my sweetie she’ll want to take the Yoga classes instead… 🙂 )

      But martial arts could be fun too…. then I could start doing fun stuff like this at work…. (Yeah… right, Miyuki, keep dreamin’….)

  1. My gawd, you’re Asian!! I feel like Homer Simpson in one of those episodes where his brain is telling him something repeatedly but he just doesn’t recognise even the most obvious!! Quite a while back I read your post about having problems getting back into the US after having been to Canada, and you wrote something along the lines of their thinking you might be an illegal immigrant from China – and I though, “Dumb customs officers, why would they think she is Asian!”, hahaha. “Brain, I thought we had an agreement!” Anyway, that’s so cool (but I guess you’re used to it by now, lolz). So what are you? Chinese? Hongkongese? Korean? Do you speak Cantonese (I’d give my right arm to speak Cantonese and forever be able to skip those wonky HK subs!!).

    PS: I’m in Denmark by the way (country the size of a stamp located between Norway and Germany). xD

    • Actually my mother was Okinawan and my father American, but I was born and raised here in the US. However I take after my Mom in appearance and look nearly like she did at my age… most people here in the US mistake me for every Asian ethnicity under the sun.

      It can be a pain at times… and worse, I don’t even speak Japanese beyond a few words and phrases here and there. (Yes mom and grandma tried to teach me… but lil’ Miyuki was such a stubborn girl…. 😉 Now I wish I’d paid more attention…. Sigh.)

  2. Oh well, don’t be too depressed about it; You’re not the only one who was too lazy to do something about learning “Asian”. Twenty years of HK film watching has taught me to say “hello” and “thank you” in Cantonese. >_<

    • I can do a bit better than that… 😉

      All my movie watching has given me a smattering of a dozen languages… (Unfortunately not enough to be actually useful beyond picking up the vaguest gist of conversations…)

  3. Ha! The poor guy just wanted some food. Im with you on the pointy hairpins. Though I must add there is nothing sexier than watching a fight which also involves a lovley silk fan in the mix too.

    Now as long as there is not another cat girl who is also a cook in your town. The world Might be safe. Emphasis on might. LoL

    • Ooohh! I forgot about those ornamental fans… 🙂

      I actually had one of those as a girl!! We got it at a Chinese restaurant as some sort of souvenir or something and goofy lil me just had to have it. I played with it all one summer when I was about 7…. and then I promptly lost it somehow.

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

