8 comments on “A Catgirl’s Cozy Kitchen… “Spicy Harissa Noodles with Spinach & Sundried Tomatoes”

  1. It did turn out nice for me, but if you are going to give it a whirl, just remember…. There can be quite a difference in Harissa from maker to maker…. some adding slightly different spices to the mix.

    Either way… let me know how it turns out for you!! 😉

  2. Turned out pretty good for me 🙂

    My flatmate (who I thought just didn’t like them) who’s allergic to mushrooms even gambled on it and said it tasted really good, here’s hoping there’s no rash or anything 🙂

    Cheers for that, I’ll have to think of a few more interesting ways to use the paste, strong and tasty stuff!

    • Oooohhh!! I sure hope there’s no adverse reactions to those mushrooms…. That could be unfortunate.

      Other uses? Hmmmm? Well….. It makes a nice soup too, with red Turkish lentils and chick peas…. and I’m wondering what sort of chili one might make from it as well, with some ground beef and black beans…..

      Ahhh the possibilities….

  3. I used small portobello (about 2″) and button mushrooms.

    Not sure about the Harissa paste, maybe a curry paste would do but I got mine just in one of the giant supermarkets.

    Also for UK peeps I think American tomato paste is what’s known as tomato puree here.

  4. @Novia, I have a recipe for Harissa paste itself, if you want to make it from scratch…. most of the ingredients are probably easier to find than the paste itself, I’ll put it together for you and post it in your message board in the next day or so. 😉

    Deeopey is right about substituting portabello mushrooms, but any small button mushrooms would work as well. Shitake mushrooms would probably be good too I think. But I thought you didn’t like spinach? 😉

    Psssst…. I think you could leave that out and have it work just fine…..

    @Deeopey… Yep. I believe you are right about the tomato paste. Here in the US, tomato puree refers to looser crushed tomatoes and a fair amount of juice. Our tomato paste is as thick as creamy peanut butter and made more concentrated.

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!