7 comments on “"Mas Negro Que La Noche" (1975) – Mexican Ghost/ Horror

  1. OK Nekoneko, you have me officially convinced! I’ll crawl away from the world of Asian Cinema and have a virtual holiday in Mexico…. though tracking it down is going to be fun! You had me at the mention the Poe’s “The Black Cat”. Of course I am certain you know of the Karloff/Lugosi “The Black Cat” which managed to use the title, claim the inspiration….. and end up nothing to do with it! Well there is a brief appearance of a black cat. No wonder it got renamed “The House of Doom” and “The Vanishing Body”. Still it is actually a wonderful bit of 1930’s American horror, that does at least one really nasty thing near the end.

    • If quaint old school ghost stories are your thing, I think you’ll like it. It’s available through Amazon Marketplace sellers here in the US, but I’m thinking Ebay is probably a good bet as well.

      If you have trouble locating subtitles for it, let me know and I’ll see what I can do to fix you up. 🙂

  2. Well I finally watched it! There is something rather fun about tracking down a movie that you hear about on the internet, with a recommendation from someone you don’t know. Even better that it seemed to be a pretty poor copy from someone’s VHS, and that the subtitles I found were not quite perfect (and apparantly my Spanish is far better than I ever realised – who knew?), and the production values are little better than a 1970’s episode of Columbo. To start with I was just marvelling at the rather exploitative nature (shower scene? naked model in a strangers bed? odd dressing up scene obsessed with the girls underwear), the crazy 1970’s fashion, and at Pedro’s rather fantastic mustache. But then it actually rather gripped me, in a wonderful old-school kind of way. It showed the skill of suspense, and the power in NOT showing things. As you say, the library sequence was marvellous. In short – I liked it a lot. So thankyou 🙂

  3. So glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    I’ve one more of Taboada’s films to review…. if I ever get my Blog problems straightened out… “Veneno Para Las Hadas” aka “Poison For The Fairies”…. I’m thinking that one might just be up your alley as well!

  4. Well I have sourced a copy of those poisonous fairies! I’ll try and watch over the weekend (although a couple of mainland Chinese films may well get the final vote) and report back 🙂

  5. Hey Neko, finally watched Veneno Para Las Hadas. Very very interesting. I’ll say little in case you get to review it, but Taboada really matured as a film-maker didn’t he? Clever little film that so isn’t about what it says on the tin, a bit of a mexican “Heavenly Creatures”. Never scary, but always unsettling. I sure enjoyed it, so thanks 🙂

  6. It’s definitely one I’m planning a write-up on, but I still have to finish watching it first.

    I started on it one evening only to drift off to sleep about a third of the way in. Not the film’s fault…. just me being exhausted from a particularly long hot day at work. I wanted to wait a bit before going back to it so the film would fade a bit in my memory and let me watch it properly as a whole.

    Probably by the middle of the week I’m thinking…. but first “A Chinese Ghost Story”. 😉

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

