3 comments on “A Catgirl’s Special Valentine…

  1. I’m glad you and Carolyn had a great Valentine’s Day. You were cruel though. You talked about your Curried Indian-style Lasagna with Apples and Portabello Mushrooms without saying what else was in it. I can figure out the title ingredients. LOL How about some hints for the rest? I don’t need measurements or anything. 🙂 Yes, I’m drooling.

    Lastech and I didn’t do anything special. It was pouring rain anyway. Next month is our anniversary. We’ll do somthing then. If I’m lucky, we’ll go to Big Basin Redwoods and bbq and hike trails and relax away from the smell of bus exhaust.

    Pass on some scritchies to the kitty cat.

    • We had a wonderful day…. sometimes it’s all about the little things that make time together special. 🙂

      Ahhh... my Lasagna… I’m so pleased with the way it came out. It was super easy too. All I did was to make a nice fruity curry sauce out of onions and chicken stock with diced apple bits and minced raisins. I spice it with a wee bit of curry paste (Patak’s Hot Curry Paste) and a little ground garam masala and add a little brown sugar, a splash of soy towards the end just after I put in some yogurt and thicken it a little more with a bit of flour. It’s always a bit different… depending upon what I have available… sometimes there’s a little pineapple in it, maybe some apple juice, possibly mango chutney if I have it, even tomatoes on occasion. Curry is almost a living breathing thing for me and always tends to want to take on a life of it’s own, going wherever it wants to go with me just along for the ride…..

      I layered it with uncooked lasagna noodles as I left it a bit “looser” than my usual curry and put a layer of thin sliced portabella mushroom caps, then topped it with shredded cheddar. Mmmmmm!! Soooo darn yummy!!

      It ought to go well with shredded chicken too if you wanted to substitute it for the mushrooms…. 😉

      Your hiking plans sound nice! I hope the weather cooperates…. unfortunately I’m probably looking at a few more weeks of cold weather myself before spring lets us get out and enjoy things like that here!

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

