8 comments on ““Martyrs” (2008) – French Splatter/ Horror

  1. I wish I had read your review prior to renting it. Am viewing it now, am 2/3 into the movie… I rented it because I knew you’d reviewed it. I’ve read your review diagonally because I’m still watching it and don’t want to spoil the ending. I wanted to see your score.

  2. This one…. I wish it wasn’t so well made from a basic cinematic standpoint. At least that way I would feel so ambivalent about disliking it so much.

    The acting works…. the set design, camera work, pacing and overall story arc work…. but that ending…… Aaaauuuggghh!!!! It’s almost like the movie wants you to feel like you need to take a shower after watching it…..

    Not this girl’s sort of movie at all…. no sir.

  3. I am with you about bad ending. I remember loving Red Eye so much till it hits the end…stupid ending.

    I might not see this movie anyway 😉

    • “Red Eye”? Which version? Knowing you it’s probably the 2005 Wes Craven film with Rachel McAdams and your favorite, Cillian Murphy. Am I right? 😉

      …. or was it the Korean film of the same name? “레드아이”? 🙂

      Hahaha!! I’ll bet you can guess which one I saw…… 😉

      • Hahaha…yes the Cillian Murphy ones 😉
        Terrible ending fits for fairy tale rather than thriller.

        Hmmm…I didn’t know Korean has Red Eye too 😉

  4. Oh, I’m glad I read your review. I’ll tell Lastech to skip that one. If he wants to watch it, I’ll make sure I have a good book to read. 🙂 I can handle violence. I don’t like that kind of violence.

  5. Yeah… I’ll pass… Kind of sounds like Uwe Bolle’s “rampage” but with gore. The key for me is the gratuity of it, so that’s a no go…

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

