7 comments on ““Belenggu” aka “Shackled” (2013) – Indonesian Horror/ Suspence

  1. Shame on me!! I haven’t even heard of this movie before. Hahaha I live in Indonesia and yet I didn’t this movie exist.
    From your review, it sounds good maybe I should look it up and for once, review a movie from my own country. Great review, Miyuki :)

    • I think that you might like it, but the story is very simple. For me… the big appeal was the creepy imagery of the rundown apartment Elang lived in and the very “film noir” feel of the whole story. You’d probably have to really like those old 40′s & 50′s American black & white detective thrillers to be as impressed with it as I was…. Still it’s an excellent movie that I think will surprise people from other countries not used to seeing such well made films from Indonesia.

      It would be interesting to hear what you think of it though… You are usually so critical of your own country’s films that I think you would have a perspective that might balance my own enthusiasm for it. :)

      • Hmmm… I never watch black and white movie except for Psycho…then the movie might not appeal to me as much as it is to you…but who knows, I have to see it first.

        Hehehe I think I am quite critical to all movies, you should see my review on The Hobbit ;)

        Talking about watching the same movie…what happen to our Rose Red event?

      • Oooohhh!! I read your “Hobbit” review… especially the second part and how you were not happy with the changes from the book. I have yet to see the second part of that trilogy so for me there was less disappointment that they changed things.

        You never watch black & white movies!! I watched soooo many as a little girl and even today some of my favorites are older ones like those. With some stories… like horror, mystery, or detective films the look you can achieve with monochrome like that is so compelling and amazing. I think you cheat yourself by not giving more of them a try….

        Ahhhh!! “Rose Red”… I still have that… as well as “Harakiri”, but those reviews came around when both of us got so busy…. me with work and you with your new job and your move that it just didn’t seem like we would get the chance to do them. (And I wanted to be a good friend and not pester you about it…. ;) ) If you are still up for either one I’m definitely still game. Just tell me which one you’d like to do and I’ll give it a watch again to refresh my mind before we write them.

      • I watched it when I was a kid…but the only one I can remember is Charlie Chaplin’s movies.

        Let’s do Harakiri :)
        I will watch it this week and will let you know hen to review it.

      • “Harakiri” it is then. :)

        I’ll see if I can find a chance to re-watch it…. maybe even tomorrow on my day off… and we’ll give it our best tag-team. ;)

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

