6 comments on “Run Run Shaw Passes Away

  1. Sad news indeed. As a producer he was involved in so many of my favourites.

    In addition to the ones you mentioned a quick scan of his 323 IMDB credits turns up Return to the 36th Chamber, Clan of the White Lotus, Mad Monkey Kung Fu, Legendary Weapons, and Blade Runner!

    • Yes… but on the bright side it was so nice to read that he was very healthy and active in his personal as well as business life until only recently. To reach the ripe old age of 106 is an accomplishment in and of itself.

      I’m thinking I definitely need to watch a few of my Celestial Shaw DVDs again for a lil’ nostalgic boost…. :)

      • Indeed, I should’ve mentioned that. Oh that we all could live as long and full lives as that :-)

      • Yes… I read he practiced quigong rigorously, and it seems to have worked very well for him indeed! Hopefully Tai-chi will keep Carolyn and I as well preserved in our golden years… (I can only wish… ;) )

  2. Sad news, but then again 106 (I read 107 elsewhere) is a pretty fine innings in anyone’s book. Not only did he produce all those classic films, but he also set up the TVB television station, without which the newer era of stars such as Chow Yun-fat, Maggie Cheung, Leslie Cheung and Anita Mui would not have gotten a break.

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

