6 comments on ““Rasuk” 2011 – Malaysian Ghost/ Horror

  1. You’re right Nekochan ;) Rasuk means possessed

    The movie sounds similar to my custom, well we are after-all neighbors ;)
    The effect for that screaming possessed woman is great. looks quite real. The movie lost its translation during Islamic stuff probably because the translator didn’t know Arabic.

    I can’t stop laughing seeing the poster….hehe it is as norak as Indonesian horror movie posters.I don’t know how to translate norak into English…I think it’s like eye-catching in a bad way.

  2. The effects were really well done in this one and there are some fairly startling ones from time to time that worked really well to tell the story.

    Hehehe!! I agree the poster certainly does understand the way to make you remember it… it’s a very good “exploitation” movie poster. I think I catch the meaning of “norak”, although you are right, there just isn’t one word in English that would carry the meaning as simply as that. ;)

  3. Just saw Karak. This one is my next bet. I’m very tired of the pocong and the spirits so it’s gonna be nice to see a possession movie for a change.

  4. Here’s hoping you like it as much as I did!

    And… if “possession” themed movies are more your style, have you given “Santau” a look? It’s pretty good too.

  5. I love your site! I’ve got the flu and your awesome reviews have been cheering me up and keeping me entertained. I love creepy ghost stories as well and completely understand supernatural over 5 o’ clock news horror EVERY time. :) Anyway I’ve done quite a bit of reading and writing on horror myself and can share a bit of trivia: Sidek Hussain actually had a tumor removed from his neck when it was fairly small but it quickly grew back. He decided if it was Allah’s will and that was the face he wanted him to have, he’d leave it alone. :) Anyway, I and all my hedgehogs (Nigel, Quilliam and Athena) adore your reviews. Happy New Year! <3

    • So glad to hear from another Gentle Visitor to my humble lil’ Litterbox! Happy New Year to you and yours as well. :)

      Yep… this wee lady is nutty for ghost stories… especially odd Asian stuff and other foreign fare. My sweetie says its my inner spirit seeking to get back in touch with my ancestral roots… I think it’s just my inner child constantly wanting to nostalgically return to those carefree days of my misspent youth. (But her explanation sounds so much better… ;) )

      Thanks for dropping by and here’s to hearing from you again! ;)

C'mon... Share your thoughts with this lil' Catgirl!!

